Our parents are aging and while we wish they would continue living the same robust lives they lived when we remember them from our childhood, the reality is  it’s now our job to nurture.

A few weeks ago I wrote a letter to my mum’s doctor. For the sake of her privacy I won’t go into details here but suffice it to say this is the first time I have been in a situation where I felt very strongly about wanting to share some of my own research with her GP based on signs witnessed with my own eyes and symptoms she described to me. Not living in the same town as my parents and not seeing them every single day means that when I do see them I notice the changes. So I faxed my observations through to the doc just asking that he please keep my letter on file for when she comes in next.

The next day he telephoned asking her to come in for an appointment.

Only in a small town.

(Big city, please, feel free to go ahead and prove me wrong.)

