My Great Uncle Charlie made it to France and he wrote this letter to his sister Alice on this day 97 years ago. We don’t have any more of Charlie’s letters. I wish we did. I think of him every Remembrance Day.

C Company 11th Essex
B.E Force
December 29

Dear Alice,

Just a few lines in answer to your letter of last night. I also received the paper a day or two ago. I was very glad to hear you was quite well, and at present I am quite alright myself.

I hope you enjoyed your Xmas, but I cannot say as I had a very merry time. I was not in the firing line, but not far off. Still it was very quiet.

We have had rather a busy time lately. The Germans tried to break through, but were not able to, and never will now. I got my first taste of gas last Sunday week and I hope it will be the last. It’s awful stuff.

I have heard no more about leave, and shall soon give it up as a bad job. There are hardly any going now, as we are so much under strength. There are only about 300 of us now, who came out with the regiment, and we were nearly 1,000 strong then, so you see we have had it rather rough.

I have not heard from Albert lately. I expect he is still in England.

Well, I think this is all just now. So I will close. With Fondest Love From your Loving Brother

Charlie

 Please excuse scribble

 

