One of the things I love about this time of year is that I get written updates from some people whom I only hear from once a year, so the missives they pen in their Christmas cards are little gems I look forward to receiving. And in turn I pen a few pieces of news in my card to them. Well, a funny thing happened this year…

One of those friends joined Facebook in 2012 and I was thrilled to connect with them online thinking we’d be able to keep in closer touch. As time went by I realized I never saw any posts on their wall, no photos, no updates, not even a profile picture of a pet or a favourite flower. Then their holiday card arrived and it said, “Hope all is well with you. I so enjoy reading your Facebook posts. All the best in the new year.”

No update for me.

No news about the family, life, travels…

I admit I was disappointed. I understand when people want to keep a low profile online but when they receive all of my news and I in turn receive none of theirs… well…

Basically Facebook highjacked the only personal communication I really had with this person.

Damn you, Facebook! <shakes fist at Facebook>

