I alluded to this mail-out of mine in a previous post. Here is just a small portion of what I am sending out this year in the way of corporate holiday promotion for my line of customizable greeting cards.

It’s always a crap shoot with a physical mailer. Yes, I could just send an email. Yes, I could save all that money on printing and postage and all that time signing, folding, stuffing, sealing, stamping, and schlepping down to the post office, but this way I actually get my product in people’s hands. When I consider the cost per piece to get my work into people’s hands versus, say, paying for ad space in Business in Vancouver it seems well worth the effort.

But the question is, are the cards getting into the right hands? How many years in a row do you send a card to a company without hearing back from them? When is enough enough? When do repeated efforts turn into a dead end? Is there value in repeating your message to the same people year after year? Is it worth changing up the approach from one year to the next? By keeping them on the mailing list will they eventually come to recognize the name/product and feel a comfort level with what I’m offering? Can they even afford what I’m offering? Are they telling their friends? Are they passing my work or my website address on to the person who really makes the decisions? How can I get personal feedback on these cards when mail is such a one-way mode of communication – it’s a personal, physical, and arresting mode of communication if done well, but it’s really still just a monologue until someone answers back.

These thoughts – and many more – both plague and bless me. This is a sneak peek at what it’s like to run one’s own business. And it’s also one reason why I meditate. It quiets the constant questions.

