For the benefit and delight of future generations

Yesterday this new story crossed my desk. A museum in Norway has been holding onto a package for 100 years that was finally opened yesterday. All they knew was that a prominent man in Norwegian politics, Johan Nygard, gave the package to town administrators in the early 1900s, saying its contents would “benefit and delight future generations.”

It was known that Johan Nygard assisted in organizing a 300th anniversary celebration of a battle that the town won against the Scots in 1612 so it was believed that the package may contain documents relating to this battle or the anniversary celebration he helped plan. Sure enough, inside were telegrams relating to the the celebration and other correspondence and literature. The package contained letters, newspapers, notebooks, a drawing, and community council papers all from the early part of the 20th century.

“This is like gold for us museum people,” said one of the museum’s directors.

This story reminded me of an early trip my family made to Victoria where I was enthralled by a time capsule located on the grounds of the BC Legislature. I recall it was sealed up in 1950s and is slated to be opened in the 2050s. Maybe someone can confirm that one for me. Sherrill?

All I know is, I remember telling my brother that I would still be alive when it was opened but that he probably wouldn’t be. When you’re seven, a three-year age difference seems like centuries.

What could you bury in your walls or garden that might benefit and delight future generations?

