Kids and letters

As Christmas approaches each year I consider what – if anything – to send to my little cousins in England. Their mother routinely says, “Just send a letter. They love your letters.”

How cool is that. Adolescents who love receiving letters. I’m not saying they don’t also love their iPod Touch and their Xbox, but they love my letters which means they’ll probably grow up to be letter writers too. Which also means they will likely take pride in writing out actual words instead of lol’ing and brb’ing well into their adulthood. One can only hope.

I’m wondering how many other kids out there also love receiving letters and writing them and if I can convince some of them to take up a 10-day letter writing challenge or something equally fun and interactive with their friends or classmates.

