I was a few months into this letter-a-day blog challenge when my friend Keri told me a story. She was in hospital for the treatments that accompany a cancer diagnosis. While she was there a friend’s mother wrote her a card every single day. Not just one card but a card for every day she was in hospital. How awesome is that? And she found them to be wonderfully uplifting which was exactly the point of the cards.

I am continually amazed that something so simple can have such a positive impact in people’s lives. People remember those thoughtful gestures and it’s an inexpensive way to make a strong connection with people. If you don’t already know, it’s $ .61 to send a letter within Canada, $1.05 to send one to the US, and  $1.80 to send one overseas.

Keri also took my 10-day letter writing challenge. In a recent text message she wrote, “As my friends and family start getting the cards I’m really looking like a hero.”

See? Tell me. When does a person look like a hero after sending an e-card? Answer me that.

