Day 4 of the 10-Day Letter Writing Challenge
(Christina’s Day 120 of 365)

I wrote today’s letter to my brother who lamented recently that kids today don’t seem to learn cursive handwriting in school. Certainly they aren’t being made to practice their handwriting skills. I haven’t actually corroborated the fact that penmanship is no longer taught in school but as a school teacher Mark sees a lot of scribbles from his students so it’s pretty clear that tidy writing is not encouraged. I guess that’s because they are busy LOLing and BRBing on their iPhones.

Anyway, i wrote him a letter in my best cursive writing which, in my opinion, looks awkward and is not very ‘me’. I have been practicing this old cursive script in my journal for a few days now but I’m not sure I can keep it up. It just reminds me too much of my angst-filled teen diaries. I really don’t need to be reminded of those days, thanks very much.

I’m loving the air mail writing paper. Thank you Daiso – crazy $2 store in Richmond’s Aberdeen Mall – for this awesome find. I may have to go back and look for more.

