Laser cutting is not cut out for all papers

My friend Robin Reich of Reich Papers was sweet enough to send me a few sheets of Savoy, that gorgeous 100% cotton sheet I’ve mentioned on the blog at least once already. It’s amazing. I asked her how it would laser cut and she said she wasn’t sure anyone had done that yet so I decided to try. The process does not do this paper justice. Nothing ventured, nothing gained right?

While the laser didn’t do the most stellar job on 100% cotton, I did want to send this dogwood – card no. 2 of five in the Nature Series – to Robin as a thank you and to show her the results. I can’t quite recall what company makes that irridescent pink paper I used inside, but it sure makes this dogwood jump to life. Pink and white is so much more girly than I’m used to. Those who know me will agree.

UPDATE: I should add, it’s not that this looks horrific – far from it. There were just a lot of burned edges on the design. Too many. Still, I heart this paper immensely.

