In today’s letter to my cousins I wrote, among other things, about how James and I came across this sweet little spiral path at Jericho Hill Community Centre. It’s a Fibonacci Spiral!

My cousins probably won’t touch on this in their high school math class but they’ll at least have seen this spiral in the pattern of a sunflower’s seeds, a pinecone’s scales, or a snail’s shell. These proportions appear in nature but they are also an important role in a great deal of art and architecture. Designers have been known to design page layouts to these proportions as well.

I thought they’d dig it because in the little town of Saffron Walden near where they live there is a sweet little turf maze that my brother and I used to walk when we were their age. I thought of that maze when I saw this little spiral path.

